CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
FOOD & AGRICULTURE

%7 Karen Ross, Secretary

May 2, 2018

To: Contract Veterinarians

Subject: Official Identification Requirements for Cattle Entering and Moving
Within California

Effective April 1, 2017, the law requires official identification for the following cattle
entering California.

Female dairy cattle of any age

Male dairy cattle born after March 11, 2013, including steers

Sexually intact beef breed male cattle and bison 18 months of age or over
Sexually intact beef breed female cattle and bison six (6) months of age and over
Cattle and bison of any age used for rodeo, recreational, show, or exhibition
purposes

Mexico origin cattle regardless of age or sex

e Exceptions: http://goo.qgl/siw6FU.

Effective April 1, 2017, the law requires official identification for the following cattle
moving within California.

e Dairy cattle born in California after January 1, 2017, prior to leaving their birth
premises

e Dairy cattle on change of ownership

» Non-virgin sexually intact male cattle less than 18 months of age and sexually
intact male cattle 18 months of age and over, prior to change of ownership

o Exceptions: http://goo.gl/Ngp92t.

Sincerely,
1
Dr. Kent Fowler

Animal Health Branch, Chief

cc: Dr. Annette Jones, California State Veterinarian and Director
Dr. Anita Edmondson, Supervising Veterinarian
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